Rugby World Cup 2023: Team England Record and Tentative Squad

Since the inaugural tournament in 1987, the England national team has participated in every Rugby World Cup. They have competed in 51 games in nine tournaments, winning 36 for a tournament winning percentage of 70.59%.

While they have competed in three other finals—the 2019 final, the 2007 final, and the 1991 final—their best finish to date was the win in 2003. They defeated Australia and the United States four times each, an outstanding achievement. Their poorest record is against South Africa, which has won all five meetings with them.

England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales, and France co-hosted the 1991 Rugby World Cup. The final match between England and Australia was held at Twickenham. The 2015 Rugby World Cup was staged exclusively in England, while eight matches were played at Cardiff’s Millennium Stadium, home of the Welsh national team.

  1. Debut: 23 May, 1987 v Australia at Concord Oval, Sydney
  2. Appearances: Played 50 – Won 36 Drawn 0 Lost 14 – Points for 1,569 Points against 783 – Win percentage (72 percent)
  3. Most RWC appearances: Jason Leonard 22 (1991-2003)
  4. Most RWC tries: Rory Underwood, 11
  5. Best finish: Champions (2003)
  6. Qualification for RWC 2023: Losing finalists at RWC 2019

Also Read: England Schedule

Most Famous Victory

The Rugby World Cup 1991 was off the scale in intensity for team England. Matches against France were eagerly anticipated and fiercely contested. Tempers were frayed in the cauldron-like atmosphere of the Parc des Princes, and punches were thrown. Micky Skinner’s thunderous tackle on Marc Cécillon will long be remembered about England’s 19-10 triumph, not either of the scoring (Rory Underwood and Will Carling scored for England, while Jean Baptiste Lafond scored for Les Bleus).

Most Memorable Moment

The most cherished moment in English rugby history is Jonny Wilkinson’s game-winning, extra-time drop goal in the Rugby World Cup 2003 final. Ian Robertson’s BBC Radio coverage of the incident in front of his eyes is almost equally famous. “This is the one, Jonny Wilkinson’s getting it back… He tumbles for World Cup success… He has finished, it’s up, and it’s over.

Lowest Point

Being the first host nation in 2015 to not get to the knockout rounds. Stuart Lancaster’s team knew it wouldn’t be an easy road because three of their pool opponents were among the top 10 in the World Rugby Men’s Rankings, but losses to Wales and Australia sandwiched between victories against Fiji and Uruguay caused them to fall far short of expectations.

Top Player

Wilkinson is once more the obvious pick, but it’s unlikely that England would have advanced as far as they did in Australia without Martin Johnson’s guidance. Although England’s roster had many seasoned players and was mocked by the local press as “Dad’s Army,” Johnson was the foundation for their victorious campaign.

Top Record Breaker

Jonny Wilkinson kicked 14 drop goals in Rugby World Cups, more than twice as many as his closest competitor, Springbok Jannie de Beer. With 277 points throughout his four tournaments, he is also, without a doubt, the Rugby World Cup’s leading scorer.

England Tentative Squad

Head coach Steve Borthwick has named his second training squad, which does not include any players from the semi-finalists of the Premiership. Courtney Lawes is the main returnee with injured duo Ollie Lawrence and Jack Walker also included in the 38-man squad.


Jamie Blamire, Dan Cole, Alex Dombrandt, Tom Dunn, Charlie Ewels, Ellis Genge, Joe Heyes, Ted Hill, Courtney Lawes, Lewis Ludlam, Joe Marler, George Martin, Zach Mercer, Beno Obano, Tom Pearson, Val Rapava-Ruskin, David Ribbans, Kyle Sinckler, Will Stuart, Sam Underhill.


Henry Arundell, Danny Care, Joe Cokanasiga, Fraser Dingwall, Tommy Freeman, Will Joseph, Joe Marchant, Jonny May, Alex Mitchell, Cadan Murley, Guy Porter, Henry Slade, Fin Smith, Marcus Smith, Freddie Steward, Jack van Poortvliet, Anthony Watson, Ben Youngs

Leave a Comment