Rugby World Cup 2023: Team Australia Record and Tentative Squad

The Wallabies, Australia’s national rugby union side, have competed in all eight Rugby World Cup tournaments so far. They have won the World Cup twice; only South Africa and New Zealand have more victories. In 1987 and 2003, Australia hosted or co-hosted the tournaments.

  • Debut: 23 May, 1987 v England at Concord Oval, Sydney
  • Appearances: Played 53 – Won 42, Drawn 0, Lost 11 – Points for 1,797, Points against 754 – Win percentage 79 percent
  • Appearances: George Gregan, 20 (1995-2007)
  • Most RWC tries: Drew Mitchell, 14
  • Best finish: Champions 1991, 1999
  • Qualification for RWC 2023: Losing quarter-finalists at RWC 2019

Most Famous Victory

Australia contributed to the finest semifinal in Rugby World Cup history at the 1987 tournament, but it ended in heartbreak. When the scores were deadlocked at 24-24, a Barbarian-style attack involving numerous players that flowed from one side of the field to the other culminated in Serge Blanco’s amazing dive in the corner, the game was decided in France’s favor.

Most Memorable Moment

It was the day David Campese solidified his place among the game’s all-time greats. Tim Horan received a try thanks to a daring no-look switch pass from Campese, who also scored a try with an arcing dash to the line. Until then, the All Blacks had never lost a Rugby World Cup game, but they hadn’t planned on facing a player at the peak of his erratic powers.

Lowest Point

Jonny Wilkinson created rugby history in Sydney with a drop goal with just 30 seconds remaining that prevented the Wallabies from becoming the first team to win back-to-back championships in 2003. Even more, demoralizing was their home tournament loss to England in extra time than their quarterfinal defeat by their fierce rivals in 1995, which they also experienced twice more, in 2007 and 2019.

Top Player

Campese, David. The Wallabies’ winger, who won Player of the Tournament at the RWC 1991, was the driving force behind their successful plays. Campese’s mesmerizing abilities helped him score six tries and set up much more for his teammates.

Top Record Breaker

The most significant margin of victory in a RWC final was Australia’s 35-12 triumph against France in 1999. After giving their “cup final” performance against the All Blacks in the semifinals, France found it difficult to step up their game in Cardiff and was severely outplayed. The Wallabies scored tries from Ben Tune and Owen Finegan, and Matt Burke’s reliable kick provided the remainder of their points.

Australia Tentative Squad

Eddie Jones named a training squad for the Rugby Championship featuring a co-captain structure with Michael Hooper and James Slipper the key leaders. There are also eight uncapped players and several overseas-based players.


Allan Alaalatoa, Richie Arnold, Matt Faessler, Nick Frost, Matt Gibbon, Jed Holloway, Michael Hooper, Tom Hooper, Rob Leota, Fraser McReight, Zane Nonggorr, David Porecki, Pete Samu, Will Skelton, James Slipper, Taniela Tupou, Jordan Uelese, Rob Valetini


Quade Cooper, Lalakai Foketi, Carter Gordon, Reece Hodge, Len Ikitau, Marika Koroibete, Ryan Lonergan, Tate McDermott, Mark Nawaqanitawase, Izaia Perese, Suliasi Vunivalu, Nic White, Tom Wright, Ben Donaldson, Josh Kemeny, Dylan Pietsch

Also Read: Australia Schedule

Leave a Comment