Rugby World Cup 2023: Team Argentina Record and Tentative Squad

Argentina is one of those teams who have competed in every Rugby World Cup tournament since its inception in 1987.

Their best performance came out in the 2007 tournament, which was held in France, when they stood third. After beating France they took on other teams in Pool D to take first place. In the knockout round, they beat Scotland in the quarterfinals before falling to overcome the then-champions South Africa in the semifinals. They met France again in the bronze final, which they won to finish third.

Also Read: Argentina RWC 2023 Schedule

Clinching fourth place in 2015 was their second-best performance. In 1999, they overcame Ireland in the play-offs to go to the quarterfinals but lost to France in that round. In the quarterfinals in 2011, they were defeated by the home team, New Zealand.

The World Cup has not yet been held in Argentina. Of all the Americas national teams competing in the tournament, Argentina has had the most success.

  • RWC debut: 24 May, 1987 v Fiji at Rugby Park, Hamilton
  • RWC appearances: Played 41 – Won 21 Drawn 0 Lost 20 – Points for 1,098 Points against 839 – Win ratio 51 percent
  • Most RWC appearances: Mario Ledesma, 18 (1999-2011)
  • Most RWC tries: Juan Imhoff, 7
  • Best finish: Third (2007)
  • Qualification for RWC 2023: Third place in Pool C at RWC 2019

Most Famous Victory

Their best performance came out when Los Pumas spoilt host nation France with a 17-12 victory at RWC 2007; the single try from Ignacio Corleto, with the rest of the points coming from the boots of David Skrela and Felipe Contepomi. The result startled the 80,000 Rugby fans at the Stade de France. Los Pumas returned to Paris later in the tournament and defeated the host nation for the second time to earn the bronze medal.

Most Memorable Moment

Diego Maradona celebrates with the players in the dressing room after beating Tonga 45-16 in Leicester to advance to the RWC 2015 semifinals.

Lowest Point

Losing their opening match of the RWC 2019 to France on a late, long-range drop goal from Camille Lopez. The result had to determine the fortune of Pool C, with Les Bleus coming second to England at the cost of Los Pumas. It was the first time they hadn’t moved past the pool stages since 2003.

Top Player

Pichot, with his good Latin features and long flowing hair, had all the makings of a rugby superstar. Los Pumas’ talisman, a natural leader, had a string of spectacular performances at RWC 2007, helping them to their best-ever third-place result.

Top Record Breaker

Fly-half Gonzalo Quesada ended the RWC 1999 as the tournament’s leading scorer with 102 points, including a tournament-record 31 penalties. In a competition dominated by kickers, he finished one point ahead of Australia’s Matt Burke and five points ahead of South Africa’s Jannie de Beer.

Argentina Tentative Squad

Los Pumas named a 48-player squad in late June with the Rugby Championship around the corner.


Eduardo Bello, Ignacio Calles, Thomas Gallo, Francisco Gómez Kodela, Santiago Medrano, Joel Sclavi, Lucio Sordoni, Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro, Mayco Vivas, Facundo Bosch, Agustín Creevy, Julián Montoya (c), Santiago Socino, Ignacio Ruiz, Matías Alemanno, Lucas Paulos, Guido Petti, Tomás Lavannini, Marcos Kremer, Pedro Rubiolo, Juan Martín González, Santiago Grondona, Facundo Isa, Pablo Matera, Joaquín Oviedo, Rodrigo Bruni.


Lautaro Bazán Vélez, Gonzalo Bertranou, Tomás Cubelli, Gonzalo García, Tomás Albornoz, Santiago Carreras, Nicolás Sánchez, Jerónimo de la Fuente, Santiago Chocobares, Lucio Cinti, Luciano González, Matías Moroni, Matías Orlando, Martín Bogado, Sebastián Cancelliere, Mateo Carreras, Santiago Cordero, Bautista Delguy, Juan Imhoff, Rodrigo Isgró, Emiliano Boffelli, Juan Cruz Mallía.

Related: Live Stream RWC 2023 online in Argentina

Leave a Comment